Dove Summer Glow: Review!

I won’t lie when I say this is the only ever self tanning lotion I’ve stuck to using because I love it so much. I’ve been using this gradual tan for about 6 years (whoa!)

20140621-164636-60396377.jpg
I never ever go without fake-tan because I am just so so so pale – this is my secret. I don’t splash out on a lot of different self-tanning lotions because I’m afraid they won’t work. A real tan is always best but for someone like me who just burns – fake it all the way, all year round! This product gives you a glow all over but doesn’t look orange or streaky. I use the Medium to Dark skin shade just because the fair coloured tan is just a little too light for me.

Why I love it:
This product is my holy grail fake-tan which I will always love. It’s so easy to apply because the lotion is white and you can see where you’re applying it. I usually apply it after I’ve exfoliated and showered. Although the product does leave you feeling sticky whilst you’re applying it and for around 15 minutes after – it does go away so don’t worry. I normally apply two layers for my desired colour and if I want to go darker I’ll do the same procedure the next day. You will have to let it dry for about 10 minutes or else it will smudge.

20140621-165315-60795310.jpg

20140621-165316-60796523.jpg
The gradual tan doesn’t leave your bed sheets a yucky colour and even better – your clothes will still be the same colour. When I wake up the next day, I rinse my body to get rid of any stickiness from overnight and then I moisturise. This particular self-tanner does has a slight shimmer to it. Only very recently Dove changed the ingredients and now on your body, it leaves very small shimmer almost glitter particles. It’s not too over the top and it doesn’t bother me at all.

20140621-170916-61756378.jpg
The smell isn’t so off-putting but sometimes it can get a bit overwhelming for people but I’m just so used to it, it’s the kind of “she’s wearing fake-tan” smell but I personally don’t think it smells that bad. Overall, this is my all time favourite self-tanner and I 100% would recommend giving it a try. I normally buy mine from places such as Semi-Chem because they always have it on offer for about £2.50. The original price is around £5 – £6 which I think is a bargain. Right now in Superdrug – it’s on offer for £2.48, to grab yourself a bottle, click here.

I’m very keen on buying more self-tanning products which give a more instant tan, I’ve read about Sally Hansen and Xen-Tan which I’m intrigued to try so if you’ve tried any of these – let me know what you think down below!

Links:
Instagram
Bloglovin
xx

Leave a Reply

